About me

About me

…and my writing

Diane Wordsworth
5 min readJul 21, 2023

--

I’m the one on the left…

Here are all of my stories on Medium:

I started writing in 1985. I wanted to write short stories for magazines, which I did. And I even sold a few. Right from the off, which was great and hugely motivating.

Then a magazine I’d sent a few unsuccessful stories to actually took me on as a regular feature writer. When I had a few features with them under my belt, they started to buy my short stories. And then their sister title also started to commission me for articles.

A friend at a writers’ group I belonged to was a creative writing instructor, and she was retiring to the country. When the Adult Education department she worked for (in Solihull) asked if she could recommend a replacement, for some reason she recommended me. I hadn’t done any teaching at all, but she recommended me, and I went to work as a supply teacher teaching adults how to write.

Before long, another AE department contacted me and asked if I’d like to teach creative writing for them too. This one was with Birmingham City Council…

--

--

Diane Wordsworth

freelance writer ● member of the Crime Writers’ Association ● member of the Society of Authors ● world-famous nutter-magnet https://linktr.ee/diane.wordsworth